A new law in Maine will require private insurers and the state’s Medicaid program, MaineCare, to cover the cost of hearing aids up to $3,000 per ear, every three years, according to an article in the Portland Press Herald.
Hearing loss must be documented by a licensed audiologist or physician, according to the law.
Policyholders with deductibles greater than $3,000 that have not met the deductibles by the time of purchase, may be responsible for the entire cost of the hearing aids, according to the AARP website.
To read the article in its entirety, please click here.
Source: Portland Press Herald, AARP